Orquestra XXI Soloists

Main Programme

Venue: Monastery of Alcobaça - Granary


String sextet

The current season of the Orquestra XXI Chamber Music Cycle will begin in July with a concert at Cistermúsica - Festival de Música de Alcobaça, in which some of the soloists of the ensemble will present a programme for string sextet, composed of works by Erwin Schulhoff and Piotr Ilitch Tchaikovsky. Premiered in 1924, at the Donaueschingen Festival - with Paul Hindemith as second violist - Schulhoff's Sextet is a deeply dramatic and expressive piece, which reveals the enormous influence of Arnold Schönberg's legacy on the czech composer's music. Accompanying him will be the celebrated Souvenir de Florence in D minor, Op. 70, commissioned by the Chamber Music Society of St. Petersburg and first performed publicly in 1892 with Leopold Auer on violin, notable for its virtuosic writing and orchestral conception that would make it one of the most popular works in the chamber repertoire.

Vladimir Tolpygo e Lia Yeranosyan, violins
Ricardo Gaspar e José Nunes, violas
Pedro Silva e Pedro Gomes Silva, cello

Price: €8
Special price*: €6


*Discount for under 18s and over 65s


Safety rules
The safety rules for public access to the festival follow the recommendations of the Direção-Geral de Saúde (DGS). We will welcome you with complete safety and confidence.

Access to the venue
The access to the Mosteiro de Alcobaça will be through the Santa Maria Hotel front. The exit is through the same place. The entrance is exclusive to ticket holders. The entrance is made from 17h15 and until 15 minutes before the beginning of the show. No entry is allowed after the beginning of the show.

Safety guidelines
Masks must be worn, even with a visor.
Meet safety distances when entering the venue.
Use the hand sanitizer dispensers available in several areas of the venue.
Comply with respiratory etiquette.
Respect the distance between the seats.
No physical format of the programme notes will be handed out.
You may consult the programme notes in digital media through the access https://www.cistermusica.com/pt/conteudos
If you have any questions, ask the room assistants for support.

Subscribe to the Cistermúsica newsletter