Officium Ensemble


Venue: Monastery of Cós

Vocal ensemble

Reservations at

The death of King Dom Sebastian in the battle of Alcácer-Quibir triggered one of the most remarkable periods in Portuguese history. The death of Cardinal Henry, the legitimate successor to the crown, opened the door to the succession crisis of 1580, which was taken up by Philip II of Spain, who ascended the Portuguese throne that same year. Portugal remained under the reign of the Philippine dynasty for sixty years, and this period runs through the lives of all the composers on this programme.
The central work of the whole concert is the Requiem for six voices by Friar Manuel Cardoso (Évora and Convento do Carmo, Lisbon), while other works for a time of penance (Office of the Dead, Lent and Holy Week) by composers of great relevance such as Aires Fernandez, Duarte Lobo, and Filipe de Magalhães, who, together with Cardoso and Lopes-Morago represent the golden generation of Portuguese polyphony, will be heard throughout the programme.

Requiem æternam: Manuel Cardoso
A renaissance requiem in the Iberian Peninsula

Manuel Cardoso (1566-1650)
Missa pro defunctis a 6
· Introitus
· Kyrie
· Gradual

Filipe de Magalhães (1571 -1652)
Commissa mea a 6

Manuel Cardoso
Missa pro defunctis
· Offertorium
· Sanctus
· Agnus Dei
· Communio: Lux æterna

Alonso Lobo (1555-1617)
Versa est in luctum a 6

Duarte Lobo (c.1563-1646)
Responsorium: Memento mei a 4

Aires Fernandez (?-c.1600)
Circumdederunt me dolores mortis a 6

Manuel Cardoso
Sitivit anima mea a 6

Estêvão Lopes-Morago
Jesu Redemptor II a 8 

Ariana Russo, Inês Lopes, Mariana Moldão e Raquel Pedra, sopranos
Fátima Nunes, Joana Esteves, Mariana Cardoso e Rita Tavares, altos
João Barros, Jorge Leiria e Tiago Simas, tenors
João Costa, Pedro Casanova e Rui Borras, basses
Pedro Teixeira, direction

Support: Parish of Cós and União das Freguesias de Cós, Alpedriz e Montes

Subscribe to the Cistermúsica newsletter