Kronos Quartet

Main Programme

Venue: Monastery of Alcobaça - Fence

New Times

Works by Zaghala, Glass, Vebralov, Gordon, Gershwin, Coltrane, Riley

String Quartet


David Harrington, violin
John Sherba, violin
Hank Dutt, viola
Sunny Yang, cello



Islam Chipsy (arr. Jacob Garchik) - Zaghlala (Blurred vision caused by strong light hitting the eyes)**
Traditional (arr. Jacob Garchik) - The House of the Rising Sun (inspired by The Everly Brothers) +
Philip Glass - Quartet Satz **
Fatimah Al-Zaelaeyah (arr. Jacob Garchik) - Ya Mun Dakhal Bahr Al-Hawa (Hey, Who Enters The Sea of Passion?) +
Aleksandra Vrebalov - My Desert, My Rose **
Michael Gordon - Clouded Yellow *
George Gershwin (arr. Jacob Garchik) - Summertime (inspired by Janis Joplin) +
Abel Meeropol (arr. Jacob Garchik) - Strange Fruit +
John Coltrane (arr. Jacob Garchik) - Alabama +
Laurie Anderson (arr. Jacob Garchik) - Flow +
Nicole Lizée - Another Living Soul **
Terry Riley - One Earth, One People, One Love from Sun Rings *

* Written for Kronos
** Written for Fifty for the Future: The Kronos Learning Repertoire
+ Arranged for Kronos


1st Stalls: Price: €30 · Reduced price: €20

2nd Stalls: Price: €20 · Reduced price: €15

Buy tickets »

Subscribe to the Cistermúsica newsletter