Gaia Cuatro

Other Worlds

Venue: Monastery of Alcobaça - D. Dinis Cloyster

Jazz Quartet

The intense character of Argentine music mixed with the preciousness of the Japanese musical tradition provides the raw material for this exceptional quartet created from the meeting of two great icons of Japanese jazz with two creative Argentine musicians.

The sophisticated compositions of Argentine pianist Gerardo Di Giusto receive the vibrant interpretation of Japanese violinist Aska Kaneko (a reference in her homeland). The melodic part is served perfectly by the dialogue between bassist Carlos Buschini and percussionist Yahiro Tomohiro. These four musicians take the art of improvisation to an aesthetic and musical language very much their own.

The two Argentineans and the two Japanese met by chance in Paris in 2003, and there was an immediate empathy for the difference of musical languages that complement each other, so the quartet "Gaia Cuatro" was born. Since 2004 they have been touring the world, a project much acclaimed by the public and critics.

Gerardo Di Giusto, piano
Aska Kaneko, violin and voice
Carlos Buschini, bass
Tomohiro Yahiro, percussion

Price: €10
Special price*: €8


*Discount for under 18s and over 65s




Safety rules
The safety rules for public access to the festival follow the recommendations of the Direção-Geral de Saúde (DGS). We will welcome you with complete safety and confidence.

Access to the venue
The access to the Mosteiro de Alcobaça is made through the Portaria (Monastery) entrance. The exit is through the same place. The entrance is exclusive to ticket holders. The entrance is made from 20h45 and until 15 minutes before the beginning of the show. No entry is allowed after the beginning of the show.

Safety guidelines
Masks must be worn, even with a visor.
Meet safety distances when entering the venue.
Use the hand sanitizer dispensers available in several areas of the venue.
Comply with respiratory etiquette.
Respect the distance between the seats.
No physical format of the programme notes will be handed out.
You may consult the programme notes in digital media through the access
If you have any questions, ask the room assistants for support.

Subscribe to the Cistermúsica newsletter